Upcoming Major Events

Sign Up for SMS Reminders

Add Me
Remove Me


Australian NASCAR racing was sanctioned by Bob Jane's Australian Stock Car Auto Racing (AUSCAR) authority on behalf of NASCAR in America.

In 1987 with the completion of the Calder Park Thunderdome extensions the much delayed first NASCAR race late in the 1987 racing season with the first major event, the 1988 Goodyear NASCAR 500 following early in 1988. Initially some American drivers, mostly second tier drivers, visited the Thunderdome but this waned over time and big name guest drivers were lured from circuit racing to bolster fields. Allan Grice and Dick Johnson were both early supporters of the concept, both travelling to the US to race in the then Winston Cup series.
As popular V8 powered sedans became less successful in the Australian Touring Car Championship, NASCAR arrived in Australia at exactly the right time to exploit a dissatisfaction within Australian race fans and crowds were initially promising, although they faded.
The advent of night racing in 1991 brought crowds back to peak levels and for the next five years enjoyed success. This success was limited though with only one circuit available.
The Australian NASCAR’s were supporters of the CART event on the Surfers Paradise Street Circuit during the early years when CAMS sanctioned categories and ignored the race meetings, until 1992 this was NASCAR's only opportunity to race away from its home circuit at Calder Park's Thunderdome, or at the bull-ring at one end of Adelaide International Raceway, thus limiting its national audience.
By the end of the 90's popularity had fallen below viability and the series moved to an exclusively road course calendar when NASCAR parted company with founder Bob Jane and the Thunderdome circuit. In an attempt to revive the motorsport under a new name as Stock Cars, the series only lasted a single season on the 2001 Power Tour before gird numbers fell to the point where continuing into 2002 was no longer viable.
  • 1989-90, Robin Best, Chevrolet Monte Carlo
  • 1990-91, Robin Best, Ford Thunderbird
  • 1991-92, George Elliott, Chevrolet Lumina
  • 1992-93, Max Dumesny, Oldsmobile Cutlass
  • 1993-94, Barry Graham, Oldsmobile Cutlass
  • 1994-95, Brad Jones, Chevrolet Lumina
  • 1995-96, Jim Richards, Pontiac Grand Prix
  • 1996-97, Kim Jane, Chevrolet Monte Carlo
  • 1997-98, Kim Jane, Chevrolet Monte Carlo
  • 1998-99, Kim Jane, Chevrolet Monte Carlo
  • 1999-2000, Kim Jane, Chevrolet Monte Carlo
  • 2000-01, Tony Southwell, Chevrolet Monte Carlo